Sermon Audio: An Experiment

Since our church website came online in April 2015, we have published the full text of the Sunday morning sermons. My wife has asked me about recording the preaching service and I have been hesitant to do so. The beauty of writing is editing and rewriting. Awkward sentence structure, grammatical errors or statements that are just unclear can be revised. When I repeat myself needlessly, get ahead of my notes, or just say random things that sound clever in my head, there is nothing to be done about it. At least there is no record of it!

My wife’s argument is that something happens on Sunday morning and that listening to the sermon is more than a matter of words. She has always been my biggest fan and I’m not sure her opinion is objective and unbiased.  Nevertheless, I sometimes enjoy delivering the sermon more than looking at the text myself. So we’ll see.

Below is 26 minutes of sermon audio from Sunday, May 15th. You can read the text here.  Let me know what you think. I can do a lot more with the video by inserting slides of the scripture or the speaking points/outline but like I said, this an experiment.

About Clark Bunch

Clark Bunch is the pastor of Unity Baptist Church and author of God is Near. He and his wife Teresa have one child. In his spare time he enjoys blogging, playing guitar and riding his motorcycle. And coffee, he'd be nowhere without coffee.
This entry was posted in announcement, sermon and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

